Bilfinger wins Collaboration Award at SPE OAAs


Bilfinger was recognised for its collaborative work in the energy industry at the prestigious Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Offshore Achievement Awards.

An audience of almost 500 industry professionals attended the annual event which recognises innovation, collaboration and exceptional performance within the UK offshore energy sector.

The SPE Aberdeen Section revealed twelve companies and individuals as winners at the ceremony at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) on March 23.

Bilfinger Salamis UK was shortlisted in the Collaboration category, for the company's work with Maersk Oil, Amec Foster Wheeler and Scopus.

Through the collaborative contracting strategy known as Integrated Technical services, Bilfinger, Maersk Oil, Amec Foster Wheeler and Scopus have delivered sustainable, culture-changing ways of working and considerable contract savings. The strategy has led to increased efficiency by eliminating unnecessary scopes through a revised prioritisation process, a 27% reduction on hour-versus-hour rates compared to 2014 and an increase in contract durations and scopes of supply. 

Sandy Bonner, Bilfinger Salamis chief operating officer commented: "The strategy's foundation is in true collaboration, transparent objectives, real engagement, and input from all parties on both everyday operations and long-term planning."

Ian Phillips, chairman of award organisers SPE Aberdeen said: “Once again, the finalists and winners of this year’s Offshore Achievement Awards have showcased the important work that continues to take place in our industry.

“In the first few months of 2017, we have seen improved prospects for the UKCS which has in turn created a slightly more positive sentiment. It is crucial that we harness and use this enthusiasm to continue collaborating, innovating, creating efficiencies and developing best practice.

“The standard of entries this year was both inspiring and encouraging, and presented the judges with an extremely tough job when it came to selecting the winners. SPE Aberdeen and the OAA sponsors would like to congratulate all of the winners, each of whom impressed us with their ambition and passion for their work.”